Nutrition

Most people will agree that nutrition is the most important aspect for reaching a healthy weight, and also maintaining that weight. It is the foundation to all of the hard work you put into exercise. Without that strong foundation, it’ll just keep crumbling, no matter how much effort you put towards the gym.

In recent weeks, I’ve done some research of my own to figure out exactly what I should be putting into my mouth on any given day. I’ve found what works best for me, whether I have a week of working out or a week of more sedimentary movements (your eating habits should reflect one or the other). Let me explain further –

When you are actively working out on a day to day basis, your body needs certain macronutrients to rebuild your muscles and keep you going. Those macros are carbohydrates, protein, and healthy fats. You also need to be consuming a good amount of calories through these macros in order to keep your body functioning at a level where you can continually workout every day. I know that for me personally, I’ve had a hard time wrapping my brain around eating so many calories in a day if I’m trying to lose weight; now I know that if I don’t give my body the fuel it needs, I won’t be able to workout as much as I’d like to, and so then it’s just counterproductive. I also figured out that losing weight is honestly just easy math, so it makes more sense to me.

For me, I aim to get in around 2,000 calories a day. If I’m working out a lot that week, I try to go for anywhere from 100-130 grams of protein, 110-130 grams of carbs, and 60-80 grams of healthy fats per day. If I’m not working out too much that week and I know that, then I lessen those numbers just a tad since eating too many carbs while not doing much exercise will not help me lose weight by any means. This way of eating has really helped me stay on track with what I need to eat throughout the day and helps steer me away from “bad” foods and towards what I need to be consuming before the day is over.

I have found nutrition to be a really fun experience as well, as there are so many different things you could do to spice up your diet. Eating healthy doesn’t have to be boring! Experiment, Pinterest (my fave recipe go-to), or do whatever you need to do to liven it up. I’ve tried a method where you buy one new fruit/veggie per week that you’ve never tried before, and give it a shot. I looked up different recipes for the said food and to be honest, 90% of the time I really liked it. You never know unless you try it 🙂

Keep your foundation strong and stable by choosing the proper foods to feed your body. You’ll be surprised at the results!

Leave a Reply

